Smile Moments

Standard

Living and working in this school does not always means hard times.

There are always moments that makes me smile, cherish my being, being thankful and grateful to my Creator.

I see beautiful sunset every day here, colorful sky 🙂

Every night, I can just look up and I see clear picture of stars.  So many stars!  Scenes that I can’t enjoy in Wichita nor Indonesia.  I can’t wait til early summer to be outside at night when it is not so cold 🙂

I just found out that there is no time changes in AZ (daylight saving or whatsoever)! 🙂

There is no snow here while I see how bad the snow is in the northern part.

Our school have “Van Run” which means we pick up/drop off students at certain places so that the parents don’t have to drive so far to our school.  We drop them off on “Go Home” Fridays and pick them up on the next Mondays.  I have experienced to be the rider in the Van Run twice.  Yesterday in the van, I sat next to a girl in 4th grade and a boy in 5th grade.  In the middle of our conversation in the van, the 5th grade boy suddenly asked me,”Ms. Viliya, do you have kids?”

I said no.  He asked why.  I said I am not married yet, so I don’t have kids.  He asked why again.  I smiled.  I explained to him I don’t have a husband, so I don’t have kids.  You could see it from his face that he was so puzzled.  I laughed.  I said again that I don’t have kids.  When I find a husband and get married, I will have kids by then. HAHAHA…. Maybe in his little mind, I should have kids anyhow or maybe I look like a good mom for kids  🙂

This morning, when I explained how easy I am towards my students (which is not usual).  I let them have open book test for most subjects, give them study guide which is basically the test itself, ask them to re-do assignments so they can improve their grades, giving them extra time in doing their assignments, etc.  I didn’t do that to my previous students… until now. In the middle of our conversation about this in class, suddenly L said, “I wish you will be my 8th grade teacher next year.” I smile big in my heart 🙂

My girls’ dorm parent told me that my girls said they like me 🙂 Ha!

E was the only one in 7th grade who didn’t join the basketball game today, so it was I and he for the last periods of class. He needed to get left behind assignment in his apartment.  He returned to class with a piece of chocolate and gave it to me.  First chocolate from a student here 🙂

I went hiking on Sunday with some staff here.  I saw amazing scenery, but also experience frozen toes since I didn’t expect that the hike was snowy and icy and I wore open toes hiking sandals.  Everyone in the group was so encouraging.  I enjoyed the talk and their help 🙂 Hiking might not be my favorite thing, but I enjoy the scenery and the company 🙂

I think I need to remind myself so many times to see the positive sides, smile and be thankful instead of looking at the hard part …. 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

