Love, Perseverance, Endurance

Standard

Love is tested whenever J shut down, moves away his face from me or put his head under his arm on the desk…

Love is tested whenever J talks back without ceasing…

Love and perseverance are tested when the class is loudly filled with “I can’t do it”… “I don’t remember”…”I don’t know”

Love, perseverance, and endurance were tested when a call came from the office on Tuesday morning informing me that A will not resume to school until next Monday and her mom wanted to pick up the week works so that A can work on them at home… (My head and my heart struggled…????)

Love and perseverance are tested when every morning I see M’s empty desk…. I don’t even know what’s going on and there is no news from her family…

Love and perseverance are tested whenever I see E struggles to understand Math….

Love and perseverance are tested every time I see their grades…

Perseverance is tested when the test result of each student is 40 even after doing the same test twice… I wonder if I did something wrong or if I am failing as a teacher….and I am not the only teacher wondering about this in this school…

Love, perseverance, and endurance are tested every night I come back to my apt late and tired after preparing my class knowing that the next day plan might be changed by factors beyond my control….

Love, perseverance, and endurance are tested when I know next week I am going to a field trip with my students and most of the school to go to Phoenix to join the festivities of NFL…American Football…one of the things I don’t enjoy being a part of…. plus knowing that we will spend the night on a church’s floor to let the students enjoy this big event in their lives…

Love is tested every time L says she is going to fail her grades…

Love and perseverance are tested when I am struggling preparing lessons’ materials…

Love, perseverance, and endurance are tested every morning when I come to my class, looking through my students’ desk, raising my hand and say a blessing for each of them…praying that this day will be better than the previous day…

Love is tested every single day….

and my heart questions why I am here…and my brain goes back again and again to my calling to be that one teacher who makes a difference …

Every single day I pray… May God give me a heart like His heart, loving without ceasing….

Leave a Reply

